Follow us

Facebook Flickr
YouTube Twitter2

Comments about the
website may be sent to:

Sign up for the library
mailing list

Duluth Public Library
520 W. Superior St.
Duluth, MN 55802

A tax-supported service
of the City of Duluth

City Logo

Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award is given each year by the American Library Association
to honor the best book written for teens, based entirely on literary merit.

2016 Winner
Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
(YA Fic M  Ruby)

Honor Books
Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Pérez (YA Fic  Pérez)
The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick  (YA Fic SF  Sedgwick)

2015 Winner
I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
(YA Fic  Nelson)

Honor Books 
And We Stay by Jenny Hubbard (YA Fic  Hubbard)
The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley  (YA Fic  Foley)
Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith  (YA Fic SF  Smith)
This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki (YA 741.5  Tamakil)
2014 Winner
Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
(YA Fic M  Sedgwick)
Honor Books 
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (YA Fic  Rowell)
Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal  (YA Fic SF  Cokall)
Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner  (YA Fic SF  Gardner)
Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool (Juv Fic  Vanderpool)
2013 Winner
In Darkness by Nick Lake
(YA Fic  Lake)
Honor Books
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (YA Fic  Saenz)
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein  (YA Fic  Wein)
Dodger by Terry Pratchett  (YA Fic SF  Pratchett)
The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna (YA Fic  Brenna)
2012 Winner
Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley
(YA Fic M  Whaley)
Honor Books
Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler; ill. by Maira Kalman (YA Fic  Handler)
The Returning by Christine Hinwood  (YA Fic  Hinwood)
Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey  (YA Fic M  Silvey)
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (YA Fic SF  Stiefvater)
2011 Winner
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
(YA Fic SF  Bacigalupi)
Honor Books  
Stolen by Lucy Christopher (YA Fic  Christopher)
Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King  (YA Fic M  King)
Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick  (YA Fic  Sedgwick)
Nothing by Janne Teller (YA Fic  Teller)
2010 Winner
Going Bovine by Libba Bray
(YA Fic  Bray)
Honor Books
Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
(j921 D259he)
The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey  (YA Fic M  Yancey)
Punkzilla by Adam Rapp  (YA Fic  Rapp)
Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes (YA Fic  Barnes)
2009 Winner
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
(YA Fic  Marchetta)
Honor Books  
The Kingdom on the Waves (The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, v. 2) by M.T. Anderson (YA Fic  Anderson)
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart  (YA Fic  Lockhart)
Nation by Terry Pratchett  (YA Fic SF  Pratchett)
Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan  (YA Fic SF  Lanagan)
2008 Winner
The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean
(YA Fic  McCaughrean)
Honor Books
Dreamquake (Dreamhunter Duet, book 1) by Elizabeth Knox (YA Fic SF  Knox)
One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Clarke  (YA Fic  Clarke)
Repossessed by A. M. Jenkins  (YA Fic M  Jenkins)
Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill  (YA Fic  Hemphill)
2007 Winner
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang 
(YA 741.5  Yang)
Honor Books
The Pox Party (The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, v. 1) by M.T. Anderson  (YA Fic  Anderson)
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green  (YA Fic  Green)
Surrender by Sonya Hartnett  (YA Fic  Hartnett)
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak  (YA Fic  Zusak)
2006 Winner
Looking for Alaska by John Green 
(YA Fic  Green)
Honor Books
Black Juice by Margo Lanagan  (YA Fic SF  Lanagan)
A Wreath for Emmett Till by Marilyn Nelson  (YA 811.54  Nelson)
John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth by Elizabeth Partridge  (YA 784.092  Partridge)
I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak  (YA Fic  Zusak)
2005 Winner
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff 
(YA Fic  Rosoff)
Honor Books
Airborn by Kenneth Oppel  (Juv Fic SF  Oppel)
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt (YA Fic  Schmidt)
Chanda's Secrets by Allen Stratton  (YA Fic  Stratton)
2004 Winner
The First Part Last by Angela Johnson 
(YA Fic  Johnson)
Honor Books  
A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly  (YA Fic  Donnelly)
The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler (YA Fic  Mackler)
Keesha's House by Helen Frost  (YA Fic  Frost)
Fat Kid Rules the World> by K.L. Going  (YA Fic  Going)
2003 Winner
Postcards from No Man's Land by Aidan Chambers  
(YA Fic  Chambers)
Honor Books
The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer  (Juv Fic SF  Farmer)
My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr  (YA Fic  Freymann-Weyr)
Hole in My Life by Jack Gantos  (YA 921 G158AAh)
2002 Winner
A Step from Heaven by An Na 
(YA Fic  Na)
Honor Books
The Ropemaker by Peter Dickinson  (Juv Fic SF  Dickinson)
Heart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century American Art(j811.6  Heart)
Freewill by Chris Lynch (YA Fic  Lynch)
True Believer by Virginia Euwer Wolff  (YA Fic  Wolff)
2001 Winner
Kit's Wilderness by David Almond  
(YA Fic  Almond)
Honor Books
Many Stones by Carolyn Coman  (YA Fic  Coman)
The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci  (YA Fic M  Plum-Ucci)
Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison  (YA Fic  Rennison)
Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman  (YA Fic  Trueman)
2000 Winner
Monster by Walter Dean Myers
(YA Fic  Myers)
Honor Books
Skellig by David Almond  (Juv Fic  Almond)
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson  (YA Fic  Anderson)
Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger  (YA Fic  Wittlinger)
Page Last Modified: 1/11/2016
©2016 Copyright Duluth Public Library. All Rights Reserved.