
|
GENERAL INFORMATION |
NEWSPAPERS |
MAGAZINE INDEXES |
|
ART & LITERATURE
|
BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
|
BUSINESS
|
|
CARS & ENGINES
|
EDUCATION |
ENCYCLOPEDIAS |
|
GENEALOGY
|
GEOGRAPHY |
GOVERNMENT |
|
HEALTH & MEDICINE |
LANGUAGES |
SCIENCE |
Academic
Search Premier - the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary
database, this source provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly
publications. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic
study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. Updated
daily. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription
provided by the State of Minnesota.
AccessScience - Topics included are from the fields of earth & environmental sciences, chemistry, physics and more. Includes a study center with questions and answers, study guides, bibliographies and essay topicsas well as many biographies of scientists. Based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library
Alt
HealthWatch - Many full-text articles that focus on complementary,
holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
America's News Magazines - 26 popular magazines bring you news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology information from sources such as Time, Newsweek, Fortune, Money, People and Entertainment Weekly. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library
American Ancestors - The database of the New England Historic
Genealogical Society. Includes vital records, cemetery transcriptions,
magazine articles, and more.
Available at the Library only. Subscription provided by the City
of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Ancestry Library Edition - Provides access to U.S. Federal Census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage and military records, family and local history collections, and more. Available at the Library only. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Archive
Grid - Index to historical documents, personal papers, and
family histories held in archives around the world, including
the Minnesota Historical Society and the University of Minnesota.
Contact information is included in order to arrange a visit to
examine materials, and order copies. Part of ELM/Electronic Library
for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
ArticlesFirst
- Describes items listed on the table of contents pages of individual
issues of over 12,000 journals. Each record describes one article,
news story, letter, or other item from a journal. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Biography File Index - a list of people about whom the Duluth Public Library keeps a file of information, mostly newspaper clippings and magazine articles. The focus of the collection is people who have had some connection to Duluth or Minnesota. Contents of the files can range from one brief article to many articles and other pieces of information. This is only a list of names. The files of information for the people listed are available at the Main Library. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Biography in Context (formerly Biography Resource Center) - biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies and includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. Subscription provided by theCity of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Britannica
Online - search or browse for information in encyclopedias,
magazines, videos, and web sites. There are three options: Public
Library Edition, Academic Edition and Kids Edition. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Business
Source Premier - the worlds largest full text business
database, covering virtually all subject areas related to business.
This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the
top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database
is updated daily. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota;
subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
CAMIO
- OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online. This is a growing
online collection documenting works of art from around the world.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Chilton Library - an electronic version of the Chilton Total Car Care do-it-yourself print manuals. Contains more than fifty years of information covering the engine, chassis, electrical, drive train, and suspension. Search by the car's year, make, and model. Subscription provided by the Arrowhead Library System.
Clase/Periodica
- Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Consumer
Health Complete - Articles on health related topics from mainstream
to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Consumer Reports - Ratings, reviews and articles to help consumers make informed choices. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
CultureGrams
- Concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country
recognized by the United Nations -- from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe,
including separate listings for U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
Adults and kids versions available. Subscription provided
by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Discovering
Collection - Use this comprehensive database to find in-depth
reference material on Literature, History, Biographies, Science,
and Social Studies. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for
Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Duluth Area Obituary Index - names and dates for obituaries printed in the Duluth News-Tribune and Duluth Herald newspapers. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Duluth News Tribune/Newsbank - A searchable archive of the Duluth News-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Covers 11/1995 - present. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Duluth Newspaper Index - A subject index to articles of regional (northeastern Minnesota and northwestern Wisconsin) interest that were published in the Duluth News-Tribune and the Duluth Herald. Choose from articles published from 1893-1929 or from 1988-1995. Information on purchasing photocopies of articles is included. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
eBook
Collection (formerly netLibrary) - Read one on-line or "check
it out" for 3 hours at a time. This collection includes popular
interest areas such as computer how-to, reference, travel and
personal finance. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota;
subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
EBSCO
MegaFile - Search four databases at once: Academic Search
Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional
Business Index. This multi-disciplinary resource provides full
text for more than 15,000 total publications, and indexing and
abstracting for more than 19,000 publications. Coverage spans
every area of academic study and general interest subject area
and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition,
the database contains more than 84,000 biographies, 83,000 primary
source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an Image Collection
of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library
for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Educator's
Reference Complete - More than 1100 periodicals and 200 reports
covering multiple levels of education from preschool to college,
and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual
education, health education, and testing.Also focuses on issues
in administration, funding and policy. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
ERIC
- Guide to journal articles, books, theses, and conference papers
on thousands of educational topics. Part of ELM/Electronic Library
for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Expanded
Academic ASAP - balanced coverage of every academic concentration
from advertising and microbiology to history and women's
studies. Combines indexing, abstracts, full text and images to
deliver answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - ebooks: encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Subscription provided by the Arrowhead Library System and the Duluth Public Library.
General
Science Collection - Over 200 journals provide researchers
with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific
developments - including such topics as particle physics, advanced
mathematics, and nanotechnology. Part of ELM/Electronic Library
for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
GPO
Monthly Catalog - Covers all types of U.S. government documents,
including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records;
judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Health
Source: Consumer Edition - Full-text articles from 80 consumer
health magazines, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 reference
books. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription
provided by the State of Minnesota.
Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Provides nearly 550 scholarly
full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals
focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage back to 1975. Part
of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
HeritageQuest - Provides access to over 25,000 digitized books containing family and local histories from around the country, the PERSI index to genealogy and local history periodicals, many U.S. Census records, and select Revolutionary War era pension and grant records. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867 - 1922) - Searchable full page images from the Minneapolis Morning Tribune. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
How Do I Contact? - a list of elected and appointed Federal, State, County and City officials. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Informe
- A collection of hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business,
health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Learning Express Library - a comprehensive, interactive site with practice tests and tutorials designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. Get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of results. Resources include tests for GED, civil service, law enforcement and real estate exams. Subscription provided by the Arrowhead Library System.

Mango Languages - a fun learning program teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness for the worlds most popular languages, including English. Also available as an app for Android and iPhone/iPad. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library. .
MAS
Ultra-School Edition - Journal articles, charts, graphs, health
& science related pamphlets, primary documents, as well as
full text articles for popular high school magazines.
MasterFILE
Premier - Designed specifically for public libraries, this
multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,050
general reference publications with full text information dating
as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of
general interest, it also includes more than 350 full text reference
books, 84,074 biographies, 86,132 primary source documents, and
an Image collection of over 100,000 photos, maps and flags. Updated
daily. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription
provided by the State of Minnesota.
MEDLINE
- Thousands of citations to articles about health, nursing, dentistry,
veterinary medicine, and basic biomedical sciences.
Minneapolis StarTribune/Newsbank - A searchable archive of the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Covers 1986 - present. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Minnesota Newspapers - Search full-text of the Duluth News-Tribune, Minneapolis Star-Tribune, St. Cloud Times, and the St. Paul Pioneer Press newspapers. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library
MnLink - search this statewide virtual library that links you to all of Minnesota public and academic libraries' catalogs, magazine and newspaper databases, and more. Use MnLink to request items not owned by the Duluth Public Library. How to use MnLink.
Morningstar Mutual Funds Online - Includes data reports on nearly 24, 000 mutual funds. Available at the Main Library only. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Novelist - look for recommendations of books to read, by matching favorite authors or plots or by browsing lists of subjects and awards. Subscription provided by the Arrowhead Library System.
OAISter
- Catalog of digital resources, including descriptive information
about each resource.
Ojibwe People's Dictionary - A searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. It is also a gateway into the Ojibwe collections at the Minnesota Historical Society
OneClickdigital Downloadable Audiobooks -
OverDrive Downloadable Books may be Audiobooks that you listen
to or eBooks that you read. The Audiobooks are in WMA and
MP3 formats. The eBooks are in Adobe EPUB format.
PapersFirst
- OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Part
of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Points
of View Reference Center - A full-text database designed to
provide students with a series of essays that present multiple
sides of a current issue. Covers over 250 topics. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
ProceedingsFirst
- An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Professional
Collection - balanced coverage for educators in the following
areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and
development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness;
learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology;
social sciences; and sports/athletic training. Updated daily.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription provided
by the State of Minnesota.
Professional
Development Collection - Provides a highly specialized collection
of electronic information especially for professional educators,
professional librarians and education researchers. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
ProQuest
Newsstand Complete - a full-text database of over 350 newspapers
from around the world. Access a wide range of articles, not only
top news stories, but arts, sports, and entertainment stories
as well. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription
provided by the State of Minnesota.
ReferenceUSA - Contains detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. Business data is gathered from trade publications, annual reports, SEC data and others, while residential data is taken directly from telephone white pages and U.S. Census data. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Regional
Business News - comprehensive full text coverage for regional
business publications, incorporating coverage of 75 business journals,
newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas
within the United States. Updated daily. Part of ELM/Electronic
Library for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Regional Magazine Index - a guide to articles of regional interest that appeared in area publications. Information on purchasing photocopies of articles is included. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
Science
Reference Center - A comprehensive research database that
provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented
content. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota; subscription
provided by the State of Minnesota.
Sioux
Falls Argus-Leader - Full-text access to local and regional
news in the Sioux Falls, SD area.Part of ELM/Electronic Library
for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
Small Engine Repair Center - Consists of Clymer and Intertec repair manuals covering ATV's and motorcycles, lawn and garden equipment, outboards, personal watercraft, snowmobiles and farm tractors. Subscription provided by the Arrowhead Library System.
St Paul Pioneer Press/Newsbank - a searchable archive of the St. Paul Pioneer Press, with complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Covers 1988 - present. Subscription provided by the City of Duluth/Duluth Public Library.
Student
Resources in Context - aimed at high school students. Find
primary documents from the American Journey series and millions
of articles from magazines and newspapers; a wealth of award-winning
reference content that includes overview and critical essays;
biographies; multimedia features and much more.
Part of ELM/Electronic Library
for Minnesota; subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
War Casualties and P.O.W.s - an index to information published in Duluth newspapers on some of the military personnel from the Duluth area who were killed or captured during World War II and the Korean War. Information on purchasing photocopies of articles is included. Developed and maintained by Duluth Public Library staff.
World
Almanac/Book of Facts - Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia
and four almanacs. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries,
facts, statistics, etc. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota;
subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
WorldCat
- "The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more
than 70 million bibliographic records." Includes holdings
information from the world's libraries. PLEASE NOTE: WorldCat is not used to place interlibrary loan
requests. Use MnLink
to request materials from other libraries. How
to use MnLink. Part of ELM/Electronic Library for Minnesota;
subscription provided by the State of Minnesota.
WorldCat
Dissertations and Theses - over 8 million records. Search
dissertations, theses and published material based on theses on
all subjects that have been cataloged by OCLC member libraries.
10/8/12
Duluth Public Library, 520 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55802